Opiniones de Matillion

Matillion

4,3 (110)
¡Escribe una reseña!
Plataforma de extracción, transformación y carga para almacenes de datos en la nube

Calificación general

4,3 /5
(110)
Relación calidad-precio
4,1/5
Funciones
4,1/5
Facilidad de uso
4,4/5
Asistencia al cliente
4,5/5

90%
Un ha recomendado esta aplicación
Ordenar por

Opiniones de 110

Edward
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Geographically disparate data to the cloud in 3 days flat

Revisado el 13-06-2019

Piping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into...

Piping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into Snowflake

Puntos a favor

* If you've done any type of ETL work before, this will be a breeze. If you haven't it might take a few hours as opposed to minutes to get up and running
* The trial is full featured, get started today without waiting
* The software is on a EC2 instance in your own VPC in AWS. If you have company policies for how/where data can be processed -- you have complete control
* You can pay by the hour or the year, no hassle no fuss!

If you do encounter an issue the support organization is amazing. All questions were answered the same day, many within the hour.

Puntos en contra

More examples to work through on the transformation components would be helpful, but again... it's pretty easy

Alternativas consideradas

Fivetran
Sandeep
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Need on the fly connectivity to different instance of Redshift

Revisado el 14-06-2019

Puntos a favor

I like the bunch of API integrated in Matillion it helps me to directly grab the data from different sources without manually extra and import in my database.

Puntos en contra

I am using Matillion for Redshift from last more than 2 years. When i setup a project in Matillion with connection to a Redshift cluster, sometimes there is a need to extract the data from other instance of Redshift while running job in Matillion. In that case there is straight forward way of getting the data from other instance of Redshift like you have comments to extract the data from databases like SQL Server, Oracle etc. instead of first i need to run another job by connection second Redshift cluster and extract the records after that run different job to load the extracted records from S3 to main Redshift cluster.

Adel
Calificación general
  • Sector: Marketing y publicidad
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 5.0 /10

Extremely easy to use, but hits hard limits when dealing with lots of data

Revisado el 17-06-2019

Overall experience isn't so great for the price we pay. Because of our hard limits we have to pay...

Overall experience isn't so great for the price we pay. Because of our hard limits we have to pay for two instances in order to handle our job loads. That wouldn't be a problem if we were able to scale the EC2 instance the software sits on. It makes no sense why an application has a specific hardware limits. Surely if we can spin up two separate instances to run concurrent jobs that are unrelated to each other, the same principle can be applied when scaling up with more cores/memory etc.

Puntos a favor

The ease of use is definitely the strongest aspect of Matillion. The GUI is exceptionally intuitive and even though the application flow speaks for itself, the documentation is also great for additional support.

Puntos en contra

You can hit a hard limit quite fast with the hardware when working with concurrent jobs running (Java Heap issues etc). You cannot increase the size of the instance (m4.xlarge) which means it becomes increasingly difficult to optimize. We are always trying to find work-arounds with the amount of data we need to load.

KOTESWAR RAO
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Matillion_Koti_Feedback

Revisado el 24-06-2019

I like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the...

I like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the additional features.

Puntos a favor

1) Most of the components are user friendly.
2) Development of ETL orchestrations and transformation consumes less time.
3) Advanced features are available in some of the components makes the complex scenarios achievable.

Puntos en contra

1) OAuth document does not provide the details of proper permissions and access levels on account_id or client_id which are required for a connector.
2) Differentiation of naming convention of metrics between the console and matillion data model , mapping document of these naming conventions is not available.
3) Connector for Outbrain is not available.
4) Indirect file loading concept is not available , for example if we have five files with same structure , reg ex can not be used to load all files in a single component(s3 load,s3 put or excel)
and need to use the file iterator.
5) Loss of properties when the component configuration is changed from Basic to Advanced features , ideally the component should include all the properties of basic and then additional setting should be provided.

Joe
Calificación general
  • Sector: Edición
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Matillion for Data Engineers

Revisado el 28-06-2019

An easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the...

An easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the business, it was easy to learn and implement, and as difficult as SQL to master. I think the real complexity comes from optimising complex workflows, the more T you need in the ETL/ELT process, the more Matillion falls down. This being said it is a very good tool for 90% of your work.

Puntos a favor

It is easy to use and quick to get started, there are many inbuilt APIs and transformations that integrate it across a broad suite of systems, and enable you to transform data for the business without having to spend too much time thinking about scripts or bespoke batch files.

Puntos en contra

The filter transformer is pretty minimal considering the power of the SQL it is utilising, it cannot use compound logic or reference other columns/objects in the query.
There is also optimisation issues in very complex workspaces.
Both of these have easy to use workarounds but it is unfortunate it is not supported more at surface level.

David
Calificación general
  • Sector: Aerolíneas/aviación
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Great ETL product

Revisado el 13-06-2019

Puntos a favor

Matillion is very intuitive.
The GUI is easy to use and fairly easy to learn.
The support team is great and they respond to your questions quickly.
I like how the Matillion team is frequently looking to add new functionality and features. The new keyword search functionality is very helpful.

Puntos en contra

Matillion works great extracting data from a variety of databases and is very efficient unloading onto S3 or Amazon Redshift. However, when we attempted to use it to unload large datasets to Microsoft SQL Server it was very slow and we experienced performance issues.

Mark
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

A Great Cloud-based Tool

Revisado el 05-07-2019

I like it overall. It is easy to quickly learn and get up to speed. It is made to work in the...

I like it overall. It is easy to quickly learn and get up to speed. It is made to work in the environment I'm working in (AWS) and has a nice, clean browser-based interface to build and schedule jobs in EC2. Email-based support is responsive. However, I sometimes feel it is too expensive compared to alternatives for the value it adds and the ELT model, while beneficial in many ways, hamstrings the component feature-set.

Puntos a favor

Well integrated with AWS. Great browser-based interface. Develop in the same place where the code will run, as opposed to other solutions I use that develop in Windows and run in Linux. Easy to schedule.

Puntos en contra

I have mixed feelings on the overall value. The hourly rate really adds up over time. This is probably my biggest misgiving. Otherwise, I sometimes get frustrated with the ELT model because it means if the feature you need isn't supported within Redshift, it's up to you to create Python scripts or Bash scripts to enable it.

Sandeep
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

SalesLoft Matillion for Data Warehouse

Revisado el 13-06-2019

Evaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is...

Evaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is difficult to know where to start. We shortlisted three different ETL tools based on the capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification to name a few most important criteria. With a very intuitive development interface, Matillion ETL for Redshift came out as a winner.

Puntos a favor

Quick development capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification, customer support to name a few

Puntos en contra

Wish to see Matillion having Github control

Brayden
Calificación general
  • Sector: Transporte/transporte en camión/ferrocarril
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Matillion ETL For Medium to Large Company

Revisado el 18-06-2019

Matillion has worked incredibly well answering our business needs. We have integrated it into our...

Matillion has worked incredibly well answering our business needs. We have integrated it into our core business and use it daily with nearly no issues. We began with Matillion ETL for Redshift but soon switched to Matillion ETL for Snowflake and have had incredible success with it thus far. I recommend this ETL tool to any company of any size as it can be scaled to any business needs and you only pay for what you use.

Puntos a favor

Matillion is easy to integrate into our snowflake system. We use it to build and create materialized tables and views, run scheduled builds, and have used it to create CDC processes. It is slick and intuitive and has a great user interface.

Puntos en contra

The browser and platform crashes occasionally, about once a week. The account will log you out, but it works in real time so it usually does not delete any of your work.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

A good solution for a one man data shop

Revisado el 20-06-2019

In the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and...

In the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and running in hours starting from scratch. After a while, it's pretty hard to figure what is where and if more than one user contributes to the flows it can be painful to understand changes.

Puntos a favor

Easy to learn
Visual interface
Pretty reliable

Puntos en contra

Version control
Search
Explaining dependencies

Susan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Materiales de construcción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Matillion when used with Google BigQuery

Revisado el 21-06-2019

We are now using Matillion as our TL tool to load into our Google Data Lake which will be the...

We are now using Matillion as our TL tool to load into our Google Data Lake which will be the source of all our BI reporting data (replacing SQL servers).
Matillion is easy to install (Google Marketplace, one click build), easy to use initially, sometimes lacks a few specialist bits (usually around new things in the Google estate), but theses can be overcome by using scripts or sql statements and I am sure some will become components in their own right.
Matillion support is very good - I usually get a response within the hour

Puntos a favor

From an engineers point of view one of the selling points for Matillion (apart from the absolute simplicity of use - at least to start with) is that it produces its own documentation !!

Puntos en contra

Sometimes the error messages can be confusing , but this is often down to the messages coming from BigQuery.

Its also not always obvious that it is producing SQL statement 'under the hood' and that can mean breaking sql statement size limits without realising it

Luke
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios de información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Great data tool!

Revisado el 03-09-2021

Great. Good customer service, quality product.

Great. Good customer service, quality product.

Puntos a favor

Makes for very fast development with lots of built in connectors. Visual layout of complex data pipelines is a big plus.

Puntos en contra

Out of memory errors. We use this for a lot of production applications. After 1 year of trying to fix OOM errors and doubling our instance size, we still get them monthly. I love matillion but I wish it were more reliable.

The billing structure contributes to the problem as well. We can't run matillion on a big instance without significantly increasing our licensing fees. I wish they were independant.

Venkata Aditya
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Good ease of use, should improve customer service

Revisado el 25-06-2019

With the tools given most of the business problems can be solved(not in an efficient way though if...

With the tools given most of the business problems can be solved(not in an efficient way though if you consider SnowFlake), but there's a lot of room for improvement on the customer service side. Also, having the same functionalities for both RedShift and SnowFlake would make it a lot better, for now there are more functionalities and components for RedShift.

Puntos a favor

The tool was very easy to use and was intuitive most of the time. The functions and components for RedShift were amazing even though I didn't use them

Puntos en contra

1. Initially the customer service was good, calls were being scheduled either on the same day or on the next day. But once you start using it, support calls would take weeks. Sometimes support will say they'll get back to you but they don't.
2. In one particular instance, a support executive said they would get back to me because they couldn't find an immediate solution, but even after 3 weeks there was absolutely no response on their side. I got a reply after I followed up again though.
3. There are good amount of components for RedShift which are not available for SnowFlake, I hope they would incorporate them as soon as possible.

Paul
Calificación general
  • Sector: Deportes
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Have been using Matillion for past 9 months

Revisado el 28-06-2019

We have developed Data Warehouse for our business using Matillion. We employ 6k+ people, and...

We have developed Data Warehouse for our business using Matillion. We employ 6k+ people, and Matillion was a perfect match for our needs. Storing data in Google Big query allows seamless access to it from other Cloud Products I.E. Google Data Studio. I love the product, and limitless possibilities it gives us. Pulling the data from anything you may think of, transforming it and then outputting into Big Query is very easy and straight forward.

Puntos a favor

My background is development and I love the simplicity of the Matillion, you can very easy transform your thought process into blocks in Matillion, and debug any issues at a very granular level.

Puntos en contra

Matillion crashes from time to time, meaning you need to log back on to the system, but its benefits definitely outweigh this small issue.

Brian
Calificación general
  • Sector: Seguridad e investigaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Making my life easier!

Revisado el 19-07-2019

It's been great. The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues,...

It's been great. The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues, tuning our instance, and helping to understand the nuances of how it works. It's been a significant reduction in development time since we migrated to Matillion.

Puntos a favor

Simple, intuitive interface. I replaced a complicated series of scripts, "ETL" products, and Python code with a simple-to-understand Matillion instance.

Puntos en contra

We use it on Snowflake for Azure, so there are several features that have not been migrated from the AWS version, yet.

An option for a larger server by default in the Azure Marketplace.

PRANAVKUMAR
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Good tool for workflow management

Revisado el 05-07-2019

I am happy with this tool and it has good UI.

I am happy with this tool and it has good UI.

Puntos a favor

- It has very good UI to design the workflow.
- It is easy to design the workflow.
- It has very good support with persistence storage. Like snowflake, redshift, etc.

Puntos en contra

- It should also support Azure data warehouse.

Levan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios financieros
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 5.0 /10

Great for starting

Revisado el 17-06-2019

Puntos a favor

* It's very easy to start building scalable production ready ETL pipeline.
* GUI is very intuitive.
* Has wide variety of integrations available.
*

Puntos en contra

* Error handling/debugging is on a poor level.
* No good way to version queries/scripts or jobs.
* Not really suitable if you need to build something very complex, as it's not very customizable.

Steven
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios de información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 0.0 /10

No Technical Customer Support.

Revisado el 03-09-2021

Puntos a favor

It's fast. Pipelines are easy to setup for very basic tasks.

Puntos en contra

Your customer support people are useless. Every time I submitted a ticket, they simply pointed to an article on the Matillion website that is not helpful in solving the problem. There is no community to resolve common issues. Troubleshooting complex tasks is almost impossible for smaller organizations.

Prashanta
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hospital y atención sanitaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Simple easy-to-use Interface but looks like a development in progress software

Revisado el 13-06-2019

Puntos a favor

Simple with not a lot of unnecessary components. Very easy to use with Amazon Redshift.

Puntos en contra

Licensing mechanism not good. We had problem when trying to increase license to 6 person from 5. Integrating with Git or other source control tool not easy.

Spencer
Calificación general
  • Sector: Marketing y publicidad
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Excellent Product

Revisado el 13-06-2019

We are able to quickly execute on ongoing ETL projects and ad hoc needs.

We are able to quickly execute on ongoing ETL projects and ad hoc needs.

Puntos a favor

Ease of use and breadth of functionality.

Puntos en contra

We had a billing issue at one point when trying to renew but that was mostly due to AWS Marketplace and not Matillion as a product.

Christopher
Calificación general
  • Sector: Comercio mayorista
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Great ETL Tool

Revisado el 13-06-2019

Class leading, can turn a new file around in hours and days.

Class leading, can turn a new file around in hours and days.

Puntos a favor

Pretty straightforward compared to other ETL tools, traditional engineers pick up in no time at all.

Puntos en contra

The google version is not as rich as the AWS one

David
Calificación general
  • Sector: Administración educativa
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A Great ELT and warehousing toolset in a clean GUI

Revisado el 16-06-2019

We're pulling multiple datasets together and integrating them in star schemas with Matillion, as...

We're pulling multiple datasets together and integrating them in star schemas with Matillion, as well as doing sophisticated data analysis.

Puntos a favor

The GUI and design makes it easy to not only functionalize your ELTs, but also show a graphical DAG to stakeholders.

Puntos en contra

I wish it had an out-of-the-box API gateway to receive webhook requests from third-party data sources.

Hrishikesh
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios financieros
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Flexible and Easy to use ETL tool

Revisado el 19-07-2019

Puntos a favor

I like the use of Variables and Grid Variables that allow me to reuse jobs for different ETL workflows.

Puntos en contra

Lack of version control for the ETL code is a problem.

kal
Calificación general
  • Sector: Aprendizaje en línea
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Matillion ETL

Revisado el 05-07-2019

Puntos a favor

Ease of use
Configured for AWS
Redshift compatible
Quick support turnaround

Puntos en contra

Not all connectors available - but new releases drop regularly

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado Otro durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Matillion is the lead in ETL space.

Revisado el 05-07-2019

Matillion's cloud model is leading the trend in this industry. It's cost effective and manageable.

Matillion's cloud model is leading the trend in this industry. It's cost effective and manageable.

Puntos a favor

Matillion is the most reliable ETL/ELT tool currently. I've worked with a larger number of clients that have uses Matillion as well as other tools and Matillion is definitely the most reliable. The UI is easy to follow and understand and the learning curve is small.

Puntos en contra

The technology isn't as intuitive as others in the space. It does require some training or knowledge of workflow development though it's the most reliable.